About Our School

2020-2021 Board of Trustees

Mary Beth Escamilla, President
Mary Beth Escamilla has been a Board trustee since 2017. Mary Beth works at Greene Respiratory Services, Inc. as Controller. Mary Beth and her husband Tony have one child attending GSCM. She has her BS in Accounting and is currently in training for Catechesis of the Good Shepherd, Level I.

Alison Zlatic, Vice President
Alison Zlatic has been a Board trustee since 2018. Alison is a stay-at-home mom. She also serves on the Board of St. Vincent dePaul. Alison and her husband Paul have 5 children with 4 attending GSCM. She has her BS in Secondary Education and her MSE in Educational Leadership with a focus on Catholic Schools.

Erni Corvi, Treasurer

Jana Widmeyer, Secretary
Jana Widmeyer’s children are GSCM alumni and she has worn several hats at GSCM over the years – including PTO President, Development Director and Catechist.  She holds a BA and MA in History from the University of Cincinnati and is trained in all three levels of the Catechesis of the Good Shepherd. Currently, Jana is a development officer for the Bethesda Foundation. She served on the GSCM Board of Trustees years ago and rejoined the board in 2020.

Anne Marie Vega, Principal
Anne Marie has been  principal of GSCM since 2017. She has her BA and MA in Education as well as a MA in Pastoral Ministry. Anne Marie is trained at all levels of Catechesis of the Good Shepherd and has Montessori training in Preprimary and Elementary. She also serves as a formation leader for CGS Level I. 

Lindsay Schmitt, Trustee

Steve Lawson, Trustee

Mary Lenard, Trustee
Mary Lennard joined the board in fall of 2019.  She initiated Atrium at Nativity Parish in 2005 and continues as lead catechist there.  She is certified in levels I and II for Catechesis of the  Good Shepherd.  Mary earned a MA in Religious Studies at the Athenaeum in 2002.  She taught 3 to 6 year olds at Kennedy Heights Montessori School in the early 1980s. She and her husband Bill have 4 grown children and 2 grandchildren. 

Kathy Handorf, Trustee
Kathy Handorf has been a board trustee since April of 2020.  She is Assistant Head of School for Xavier University Montessori Lab School and has taught in public and Catholic schools, including GSCM (2001), for more than 15 years.  Kathy also serves on the board of The Cincinnati Montessori Society. She is 6-9 credentialed and holds a Master of Montessori Education from Xavier University where she recently completed a two year Principal Licensure Program.  She is certified in Level 1 for the Catechesis of the Good Shepherd.  Kathy and her husband, Joel, have three teenage daughters, who all attend St. Ursula Academy.

Martin Wilhelmy
Martin Wilhelmy joined the board in the summer of 2020. Martin and his wife Dagmar have been involved with GSCM since 2003 with now three graduates of GSCM and a fourth child that also has attended the school. With a BS in Engineering from UC and an MBA from INSEAD, Martin works as an investment advisor for the Frank Wilhelmy Hearn Wealth Consulting Group of Wells Fargo Advisors. The Wilhelmys reside in Hyde Park and are parishioners of Old St. Mary’s Church in OTR. 

Strategic Plan
The GSCM Board of Trustees is responsible for the long-term strategic planning and health of the school. In January of 2020 the Board officially adopted its next strategic plan for the school, setting out long-term goals and metrics to continue the vision and mission of GSCM. You can view the plan here.

As a not for profit, 501c3 tax exempt corporation, The Good Shepherd Catholic Montessori (GSCM) is run by a Board of Directors who serve three-year renewable terms. See below for more information about how the board operates.

What is the role of the GSCM Board?
The Board is responsible for upholding GSCM’s mission, ensuring long-term financial health and stability, appointing and supporting the principal, addressing policy issues and setting and implementing GSCM’s long-term strategic plans. The board is not responsible for the day-to-day operations of the school or the hiring of teachers or other members of the staff. Meetings are typically held monthly and the board president sets the agenda. Board decisions require a quorum being present and motions pass by majority vote. Board members serve as volunteer stewards of GSCM.

How are GSCM Board members appointed?
All candidates for board membership are nominated by a board member or the principal. Nominations typically address board needs such as legal, accounting, Montessori or other professional experience as well as perceived commitment to GSCM’s mission and Catholic identity.

Why are GSCM Board meetings not open to the community?
GSCM is a private, not for profit corporation. Board meetings, meeting minutes and by-laws are not public. The board often addresses topics that are sensitive and require confidentiality; other issues are of such a scope that resolution requires significant time. Board decisions regarding policy matters are always shared with the school community, typically through normal school communication channels.

How do I bring an issue before the board?
To bring an issue before the board, send a letter or email to the president, as that office holder sets the agenda for board meetings. The board will consider every matter submitted by a parent and respond directly to them and others, including the entire school community, as appropriate.